Calculating recipients

Every message that makes it through to the list membership gets sent to a set of recipient addresses. These addresses are calculated by one of the handler modules and depends on a host of factors.

>>> mlist = create_list('test@example.com')

Recipients are calculate from the list membership, so first some people subscribe to the mailing list...

>>> from mailman.interfaces.usermanager import IUserManager
>>> from zope.component import getUtility
>>> user_manager = getUtility(IUserManager)

>>> address_a = user_manager.create_address('aperson@example.com')
>>> address_b = user_manager.create_address('bperson@example.com')
>>> address_c = user_manager.create_address('cperson@example.com')
>>> address_d = user_manager.create_address('dperson@example.com')
>>> address_e = user_manager.create_address('eperson@example.com')
>>> address_f = user_manager.create_address('fperson@example.com')

...then subscribe these addresses to the mailing list as members...

>>> from mailman.interfaces.member import MemberRole
>>> member_a = mlist.subscribe(address_a, MemberRole.member)
>>> member_b = mlist.subscribe(address_b, MemberRole.member)
>>> member_c = mlist.subscribe(address_c, MemberRole.member)
>>> member_d = mlist.subscribe(address_d, MemberRole.member)
>>> member_e = mlist.subscribe(address_e, MemberRole.member)
>>> member_f = mlist.subscribe(address_f, MemberRole.member)

...then make some of the members digest members.

>>> from mailman.interfaces.member import DeliveryMode
>>> member_d.preferences.delivery_mode = DeliveryMode.plaintext_digests
>>> member_e.preferences.delivery_mode = DeliveryMode.mime_digests
>>> member_f.preferences.delivery_mode = DeliveryMode.summary_digests

Regular delivery recipients

Regular delivery recipients are those people who get messages from the list as soon as they are posted. In other words, these folks are not digest members.

>>> msg = message_from_string("""\
... From: Xavier Person <xperson@example.com>
...
... Something of great import.
... """)
>>> msgdata = {}
>>> handler = config.handlers['member-recipients']
>>> handler.process(mlist, msg, msgdata)
>>> dump_list(msgdata['recipients'])
aperson@example.com
bperson@example.com
cperson@example.com

Members can elect not to receive a list copy of their own postings.

>>> member_c.preferences.receive_own_postings = False
>>> msg = message_from_string("""\
... From: Claire Person <cperson@example.com>
...
... Something of great import.
... """)
>>> msgdata = {}
>>> handler.process(mlist, msg, msgdata)
>>> dump_list(msgdata['recipients'])
aperson@example.com
bperson@example.com

Members can also elect not to receive a list copy of any message on which they are explicitly named as a recipient. However, see the avoid duplicates handler for details.

Digest recipients

XXX Test various digest deliveries.

Urgent messages

XXX Test various urgent deliveries:
  • test_urgent_moderator()
  • test_urgent_admin()
  • test_urgent_reject()